Guest Blogger: A Mom’s Love (a primary caregiver)

Image Posted on

Below my mom who has stayed in the hospital with me a majority of the time is serving as my first guest blogger. She has written about her experience as serving as a primary caregiver for myself.  This is the perspective of a mother who is a primary caregiver to a daughter with a chronic disease. Enjoy!

Anyone that really knows Chanda and myself you would think that we are like oil and water!  Well  WRONG! LOL. We will argue about the color of grass and the sky! We bump heads about everything! Sometimes we just argue to argue! Well guess what? We figured out that we are so much alike.  Does Chanda love me? YES!  Do I love Chanda? YES! Well I heard a sermon a few months ago “The Other Side of Through” So now when things get tough I remember that sermon. Now you just can’t think this is a one time thing! You may be going through several things at one time but it still applies! I have been going through a lot these past few years, but nothing could have prepared me for “THIS”.  Day after day watching my daughter in pain, vomiting and crying just rips my heart out!  Feeling so helpless.  All I wanted to do was take her pain away! Chanda, the one who wants to save the world! Chanda, the sassy confident, beautiful young lady. Chanda, the one willing to put everything on the line if she is right! Chanda, the one with that big grin on her face! Chanda, the one that believes in God, Family, Friends. Chanda, the fashionista! Chanda, the one just like her late grandmother who’s favorite show is The Food Network! Chanda, such a smart women! Chanda, the spoiled one.  Chanda, the good friend! Chanda, the great sister! Now one more thing I can add Chanda the STRONG one! She maybe 26 but when I hear her in the middle of the night in this oh so quiet voice say” mommy  my bag leaked, I’m sorry” She did not ask for this to happen to her body, but she is just rolling along one day at a time. On one of the many trips to the hospital since the 18 th of November I watched the nurses attempt to start an IV 6 times and Chanda did not say a word or complain. I can’t even remember how many times the IV infiltrated and to find a new site to start a new IV.

I tell her this is just a test and when it’s over she will have a testimony!

On a lighter note you should see us changing her bag! We looked like the two stooges!
Till I blog again……

2012-05-11_15-35-17_587

4 thoughts on “Guest Blogger: A Mom’s Love (a primary caregiver)

    DreamShineBelieve said:
    January 22, 2014 at 8:57 am

    :'(:'(:'( I am so sorry Chanda that your going through this. I had never really talked with you before , until Christas this past year and I could tell right away, YOU are a very strong, sincere & very sweet young woman. Your mother’s testimony made me cry. I don’t know exctaly about Colitis and didnt know it even exsisted, but you have mine &Daniel’s prayers and all of the families. We love you and praying for you and your recovery. I’m at home during the day, you may call me anytime you can talk…I would like to visit with you through this as well. I’m so thankful that your Mom is helping you through alot, but anything I can do at all, please don’t hesitate to ask or Daniel & I would love to help in anyway. Not sure where you live now, but you can text us your address if you like. 678-654-1221. Love you all & praying for you all! Thsnk you Jeanette for your testimony. Pray you all have a restful day.

    Kayla Smith said:
    January 23, 2014 at 11:20 pm

    Chanda! I love this. You are such a strong person you keep pushing girl. Praying for your strength and recovery. … How nice it is to have a mom that cares & adores you! —Keep your head up! You’ll be just fine

      cmldunn responded:
      January 24, 2014 at 12:20 pm

      Thank you so much Kayla!

    sudom121 said:
    February 22, 2014 at 1:54 am

    OMG THIS WAS SOO SWEET LOVED IT!!!!

Leave a Reply

